The Neill Cochran House Museum is located at 2310 San Gabriel Street in the heart of Austin. It was named after two prominent families that lived there after the Civil War, the Neills who purchased the property in 1876, and the Cochran’s, who acquired it in 1895. The home was initially commissioned by the Hill family and built in 1856 by unknown free and enslaved craftspeople under the supervision of master builder Abner Cook. Enslaved artisans crafted the primary house.